Night of Treason

After what seems like an eternity Hampshire’s Night Of Treason have finally released their much anticipated debut album “Gentlemen & Hooligans”, this 13 track CD has been recorded and produced by Steve ‘Smiley’ Barnard, former sticksman of Joe Strummers’s Mescaleros. Night of Treason have performed at over 250 gigs all over the country, with claims to fame as to being joined on stage by the likes of music legends Billy Bragg, Mick Jones and Mike Peters.

The album features many songs that has been a staple part of their live set for some time, the roots of their sound can be found in a genre that all the band have a true passion for Old School Punk. There is a very heavy influence from The Clash, but that is not the whole story as the band have used their individual styles to create their own original sound, from Pinky’s gruff working class vocals, to Steve’s solid drumming coupled with Pat and Billy’s creative guitar work. This is an album of 5 middle aged punks who grew up in and around the Portsmouth area still at the top of their game, still really enjoying their music.

Night of Treason

The band’s 1st release was an 4 track EP also called “Gentlemen & Hooligans”, the four songs on also appear on the album and all four have seen a huge improvement in production and quality. The added horns on “Boys Brigade” just give the song another new dimension, Mike Peters of Welsh rockers The Alarm guests on Harmonica on “Letter From The Front” and give the feel on a wounded soldier player in the trenches and Pinky’s menacing vocals on “Can’t Remember” gives the song a real edgy nervous feel. The stand out song “On Clockwork Orange Street” is just one that will hit you on the first listen and you will hear more and more each time you listen. A great debut album without any doubt.

Night of Treason

Than band are having an album launch in London at the 12 Bar Club in Denmark Street on 21st March were the band will perform the all 13 tracks on the album in full.

01 – Can’t Remember
02 – Ballad Of The Teddy Boy (From Ladbroke Grove)
03 – If You Wannit
04 – The Young Conservatives
05 – On Clockwork Orange Street
06 – What Became of The Boy Brigade
07 – Speed & Glue ( & Rock ‘N’ Roll)
08 – Skate City
09 – Borrowed Time
10 – Violette
11 – This Is My Town
12 – Gentlemen & Hooligans
13 – A Letter From The Front

Pinky – Vox
Pat Gilbert – Guitar/Vox
Billy Bonk – Guitar
Lewie – Bass
Steve Kirk – Drums

Borrowed Time

On Clockwork Orange Street

Letter From The Front


Buy the album here.

Review and Videos Dave Chinery (Chinners).

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace