Beneath Dead Waves

On January 18th London 5 piece, (but originating from Bournemouth) Beneath Dead Waves released their debut album “Inertia” on the world.

Opening with “Nemacyst” you are brutally assaulted with a heavy rhythm, fast guitars pushing out riff after riff, with vocals leaving you dazed and confused. With a dark edge to these lyrics and their prominently guttural delivery the track glides from the onslaught to what at times has almost a prog-metal feel to the guitar work; blending the harsh with a more melodic attack, and one which can be catchy.

Beneath Dead Waves

The guttural onslaught continues with venom and power with “Delirium” interspersed with spoken word. However, this time they make more use of less harsh vocals showing their dynamic side, as well as dropping the riffs for more gentle segments in the track.

“Delirant” lulls you into a false sense of security, while the guitars still attack you and the drums pummel away. The vocals are more laid back interspersed with the guttural, again showing the potential range for these guys.

Now none of the tracks on this album are half measures, the shortest being 4.45, but the opus “Inertia” weighs in at just over 8 minutes. Opening with a laid-back vibe, gentle rhythms and melodies gentle- crescendo up, but even when they hit that aggressive level it still feels like they are holding back. And I like that! Who isn’t up for some aggression in their metal? But this shows that they can go further, and do more than just deafen you. As you reach the middle of the track the tempo ups and the attitude becomes more pervasive; but blending back to something more laid back, although the drums pound out a more march feel the vocals are delivered almost chant-like. As the track closes you can’t help but hit repeat to pull out the story to what you have just experienced.

Beneath Dead Waves

“You Were Nothing” strikes me as one of the strongest tracks. It is more structured, perhaps a better word would be coherent. Everything just hangs together better, and as the vocals come across without the venom of some of the tracks their message takes on a more venomous feel as there is no malice in their delivery, just calm calculation as they state “to sort out all your problems I should have let you die”.

The more chaotic “Imperfect” has more riffage and the frenetic drumming ensures a good workout! Closing with “Suppressional” you are subjected to another 8 minutes, (well just under 9), slab of aggression and ear bending riffage as the vocals pummel.

I have listened to this album a number of times now, and each time the melodies crawl out from behind the barrage, and I hear a little bit more each time. This body of work does not want to lie down or stay calm, and it is obvious time and effort has gone into it.

Line Up
Joey – Vocals
Doug – Guitar
Matt – Guitar
Chad – Bass
Leigh – Drums

Track Listing
You Were Nothing
A Life Worth Taking


Words by Jon.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace