The Quireboys

It is hard to believe that The Quireboys are about to celebrate their 30th Anniversary. They formed in 1984 where Jonathan Grey (Spike) originally from Newcastle moved down to London at the tender age of 17 to seek fame and fortune. The Quireboys have performed all over the world with their debut album “A Bit Of What You Fancy” reaching number two in the UK Charts. The band have always kept faithful to their early influences to British Rock greats such a Rod Stewart and The Faces, Mott The Hoople and Slade. This year in celebration of the band’s milestone Anniversary they are releasing a triple disc package containing a 19 track live DVD, recorded at London’s Islington Academy containing all the best loved material from their career. The live show contains everything you would expect from a concert by The Quireboys. It captures them in front of their home crowd at their very best; performing with loads of energy and infectious enthusiasm, with lots of priceless banter from enigmatic frontman ‘Spike’. The recording is a big production, 7 camera shot DVD of last yearís Beautiful Curse tour. This is a must-have item for any long-time fans and new converts alike. There is also a 10 track audio CD containing an acoustic set of songs performed in a completely different style, which shows the complete versatility of the band in this stripped down format. The recording was taken from a main stage acoustic set, performed at the Sweden Rock Festival in 2013 in front of 40,000 fans.

The Quireboys

The third disc of this collection is the band’s follow up to last year’s critically acclaimed album “Beautiful Curse” which was their biggest selling album since their 90’s heyday. The album “Black Eyed Sons” was produced by the legendary Chris Tsangarides and shows a continued new found momentum of this much- loved band. They have over the years always seen a huge amount of line-up changes. With the new stability of Spike, along with Guy Griffin, Keith Weir and Paul Guerin they have found a new consistent chemistry which really shows within their creation progress.

The Quireboys

The album opens with a true rocking number “Troublemaker”, which tears off with the twin guitars roaring at full pace; combined with the unmistakable sound of Spike’s perfectly delivered vocals. The record is certainly not for the faint-hearted, a full-on Rock ‘n’ Roll soundtrack with a clear injection of the Blues. “What Do You Want From Me” is a masterpiece of songwriting; delivered with the bands own style, appealing to one and all. The album changes pace with each track with the gentle “Stubborn Kinda Heart” and the clearly rocking “You Never Can Tell” giving the listener a beautiful journey of the bands obvious talent. “Black Eyed Sons” is not just a good album, it is a great album that really shows that despite their 30 years of “hellraising” The Quireboys can still cut a great tune that would appeal to any self respecting music fan.

The Quireboys

Line Up
Spike (Vocals)
Guy Griffin (Guitar)
Keith Weir (Keyboards)
Paul Guerin (Guitar)

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. Troublemaker (Black Eyed Son)
2. What do you want from me?
3. Julieanne
4. Double Dealin’
5. Stubborn Kinda Heart
6. Lullaby of London Town
7. The Messenger
8. You Never Can Tell
9. Mothers Ruin
10. Monte Cassino (Mothers Ruin)

Disc: 2
1. Don’t Bite The Hand That Feeds You
2. There She Goes Again
3. Devil Of A Man
4. Mona Lisa Smiled
5. Roses & Rings
6. Misled
7. Have A Drink With Me
8. Sweet Mary Ann
9. I Don’t Love You Anymore
10. Sex Party

Disc: 3
1. Black Mariah
2. Too Much of a Good Thing
3. Misled
4. There She Goes Again
5. Homewreckers & Heartbreakers
6. This Is Rock n Roll
7. Mona Lisa Smiled
8. Diamonds & Dirty Stones
9. 27 Years
10. I Don’t Love You Anymore
11. Tramps & Thieves
12. Hey You
13. Beautiful Curse
14. Chain Smokin’
15. I Love This Dirty Town
16. 7 O’Clock
17. For Cryin’ Out Loud
18. Mother Mary
19. Sex Party



Words By Dave Chinery (Chinners).

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace