Helena Mace

Helena Mace is a singer/songwriter currently residing in Bournemouth but originally from the Isle of Wight. She is a regular performer as a soloist and duo with Grant James performing regularly around the South Coast of England and beyond. Helena has just released her new solo album “Wash away the Years”, which features a wide variety of Country/Pop tracks produced by Bournemouth’s Matt Black, who also plays some piano on the album along with guest musicians Si Genaro and Chris Payn.

Helena Mace

All the tracks were written by Helena apart from “Moon Goddess” which was written by her father in 1975 with his group “Neon Rainbow”. The title track has already had radio airplay in the UK and in the US on frequent play via Nashville radio stations. This is Helenaís 2nd album and the first with her own creative licence. Previous releases have fared well in Europe with one track reaching the Irish iTunes chart back in 2012. The album features some nice from the heart song- writing and various styles which keeps things interesting.

The album opens with the title track which has its obvious influences in country and Helena is joined by Tom Leary of Lindisfarne who adds some foot tapping fiddle work. There are many stand out moments on this record which includes a rockier number called “Close to Midnight” which features local legend Chris Payn on electric guitar.

Helena shows off her fine vocal skills throughout and delivers heartfelt lyrics on tunes like ìBroken Tears” which includes some excellent Harmonica from Si Genaro. One of the best tunes is saved until the end, with “Discovering Planets” we are treated to a tune with lovely atmospheric feel with a much fuller sound. All in all, a really great piece of work utilising the skills of some local talent and show-casing the massive potential Helena has.

Helena Mace

Track Listing
1 – Wash Away The Years (Featuring Tom Leary of Lindisfarne on Fiddle)
2 – When The Rain Came Down
3 – I Found Love
4 – Close to Midnight (Featuring Chris Payn)
5 – If I’d Known You Back Then
6 – Broken Tears (Featuring Si Genaro)
7 – Smoke and Mirrors
8 – For The Last Time
9 – Moon Goddess
10 -Discovering Planets


Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace