monster Logic

Five-piece Bournemouth band Monster Logic have recently released their 4 track debut EP “Somewhere Somehow”. The band formed earlier this year and already have quite a few live appearances under their belts with impressive gigs at local venues Madding Crowd, Chaplin’s, Heartbreakers and the Anvil. The EP was put together with the help of local music stalwart Russ Gannicott at the Lighthouse in Christchurch. It was recorded using some fairly traditional recording methods with the whole thing put together without a click track on analogue and the tracks were mixed through the desk. The band claim they didn’t even touch a computer until the final upload. It was all recorded and mixed within a week. The EP’s unusual artwork came from a simple doodle on a whiteboard done by a friend of the band, while waiting for the guitarist to finish his tracks.

The band themselves come from a variety of backgrounds and all bring different influences into their music. Their sound brings together more contemporary styles coupled with classic and indie/ rock inspirations. The opening number “Talk You Down” introduces Alex’s unique and well-delivered vocals, coupled with twin electric guitars and impressive rhythms. Track two “12” runs at a much slower smoldering pace and features lyrics that are somewhat of a conundrum “I’m not trying my hardest, but I am trying my best”, keeping listeners guessing what is at the depth of the meaning. The tune features a understated guitar solo that feels as though the guitarist is somewhat holding back and wants to give much more.

Monster Logic
Monster Logic 123456

“Selfish” is a really beautiful but painful tune that starts with some gently plucked acoustic guitars, with Alex’s vocals helping you feel the pain that is being portrayed by the suffering of a relationship. There is some fuzzed-up electric guitars featured along with some nice harmonization and some perfectly matched percussion. “Selfish” is certainly the band’s finest creation on this debut collection. The final track ‘Silence of the Mind’ is once again a nice mix of electric and acoustic guitars delivering the goods on a much gentler level than before. Monster Logic are certainly a more than welcome addition to the local music scene and with this debut release, show plenty of youthful talent that can only further blossom as they gain more experience.

Talk You Down
Silence in Your Mind

monster Logic

Monster Logic are
Josh Ward- Electric Guitar
Nat Harrop – Electric Guitar
Alex Willmott – Vocals/guitars
Aidan Formston – Bass
Jordan Couter – Drums




Words by David Chinery (Chinners).

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace