Voodoo Vegas

Explosive Hard Rockers Pledgemusic – Powered Debut Album “The Rise Of Jimmy Silver” Released March 4th Via Cargo Records.

Bournemouth’s Voodoo Vegas have finally delivered their debut album ready for official release on March 4th via Cargo records, the album was unveiled at special pre-release night at the Talking heads in Southampton which was especially for fans that has helped with their Pledgemusic backed campaign. The campaign was so successful that the band smashed their target within 24 hours going on to raise an unprecedented 344 %, after winning over masses of fans after playing some superb gigs all over the UK and Europe. “The Rise Of Jimmy Silver” has 8 tracks and runs at just over 34 minutes, it features artwork by noted comic book artist Jim Boswell. It was produced at Rockfield Studios in Wales by the legendary Pedro Ferreira who has worked with acts such as The Darkness, Therapy?, Enter Shikari and Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros.

Voodoo Vegas

Many of the nine songs on the album are songs that the band have been performing for live sometime, they have all been reworked with the benefit of some “Ferreira Magic” with some keys added as well as some impressive guest vocals from Stevie Vann Lange who is known for her work with Def Leppard and the Mannfred Man’s Earth Band as well as the voice behind the infamous “Bodyform” advert. The album draws from plenty of obvious rock influences while keeping to the bands original trademark sound. The record’s opener “King Without A Crown” gives the listener an appetite of what’s ahead, twin rock guitar with plenty of impressive solo’s from the band’s axeman Nick and axewoman Meryl, while Lawrence’s powerful hard hitting vocals deliver in a big way. There are certainly no fillers on this album with each well crafted song providing maximum entertainment from all areas with “Bullet”, “Mary Jane” and “So Unkind” all set to become live anthems as the band’s music is delivered to a much larger audience.

Voodoo Vegas

The emotionally delivered “Lost In Confusion” shows Lawrence drawing on the bitter life experience of being jilted at the alter, a song which started life as a letter to his runaway bride, written at the suggestion of his friend Si Genaro who joined him on what would have been the honeymoon holiday. The poignant hard hitting and honest lyrics “listen to your heart not your head” really shows the immense pain that Lawrence felt at the time. This powerful ballad features a really catchy hook running along the backbone of the song that provides something really special and as a single I’m sure it would be welcomed by the masses as it gets it’s well deserved radio airplay. In contrast the song “So Unkind” comes over as being an angry rant at a partner with the lyrics ‘Why do you keep on lying why the hell did you mess me around” the really original guitar work on this songs is certainly something to be savoured matching the mood of the subject matter perfectly.

Voodoo Vegas

The album’s title track “Jimmy Silver” closes the album on a high with a classic upbeat no nonsense rock with the layered guitars again providing the firm foundation of this big anthem. Voodoo Vegas’s fans have waited six long years for this album to be delivered and yes it was well worth the wait with nine songs that all have passion, emotion and masses of energy. The very hard working quintet have played lots of gigs supporting the likes of “Uriah Heep”, “Glen Hughes”, “Fozzy”, “The Wildhearts” as well as warming up for a host of high brow tribute acts, this album looks set to launch the band onto the next level and hopefully break them through as a headline act in their own right on to their way to a very much well deserved mass market.

Line UP
Meryl Hamilton – Guitar
Nick Brown – Guitar
Ash Moulton – Bass
Matt Jolly – drums
Lawrence Case – Vocals

Track Listing
King Without A Crown
No More
What I Pay
Mary Jane
Ferry Song
Lost In Confusion
So Unkind
Jimmy Silver


Band Links

Words By Dave Chinery(Chinners).

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace