New Model Army

New Model Army to self-release 37-track double album compendium of their early material on 10th December 2012.

All recordings have been digitally re-mastered, and the package also includes new sleeve notes in book pack format, unseen artwork and nine previously unreleased demo songs from the era.

Some time ago New Model Army bought the rights to all their pre-EMI material – the centre-piece being the legendary mini-album “Vengeance” that knocked The Smiths from the top of the Independent Charts in the spring of 1984 and kick-started to the band’s long and eventful career.

Delayed by the fire that destroyed their studio last Christmas, the band have now put this together in a comprehensive package which includes

• Re-mastered versions of the album and all the Singles and EP’s from the early years
• Re-mastered versions of the band’s three BBC 1983/4 sessions including their blistering, now-legendary John Peel session
• The band’s favourite of the 1994 remixes – Zion Train’s dub “Vengeance – Right To Silence” mix
• Nine ‘new’ songs demoed on 4-tracks during 1980/1 and never before released.

New Model Army

This 37-song package comes in a CD book-pack with new sleeve-notes and previously unseen Joolz artwork from the Vengeance era.

There will also be a Deluxe Vinyl version, which will feature a re-mastered heavy vinyl copy of the original album PLUS both CDs.

Meanwhile the band are hard at work on a new album, their 12th studio album, and first with new bassist Ceri Monger. They remain typically tight-lipped about this except frontman Justin Sullivan has cryptically announce that “The last three New Model Army albums have been very much kicking-rock-band-in-a-room albums with material designed to be recorded and then reproduced live. This time we’re doing something rather different. It should be due for release in Spring 2013.”

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace