Pulled Apart By Horses

“Hot Squash” Single Out June 23rd.
“Blood” Album Out 1st Sseptember On Sony/RED

Having ventured to the far corners of the UK over the last few weeks, breaking ceilings & leaving a trail of sweaty, delighted fans in their wake, PULLED APART BY HORSES have finally confirmed details of their plans for 2014. Brand new single “Hot Squash”, out on 23rd June, received it’s debut Radio 1 play tonight as the “Hottest Record In The World” on Zane Lowe’s show.

The track was mixed by Rich Costey (Muse/Foo Fighters/Mastodon/The Mars Volta) and is the opening song on the band’s forthcoming third album ëBLOODí out 1st September 2014. The follow up to 2012’s “Tough Love”, it was recorded in the band’s hometown of Leeds with producer Matt Peel (Eagulls) and will be released on their new label Best of the Best through Sony/RED.

Pulled Apart By Horses

“HOT SQUASH” is their personal take on hypnotic desert rock with soaring riffs, topped by urgent & brooding vocals. With lyrics partly inspired by the Paul Thomas Anderson movie “The Master”, drummer Lee Vincent explained: “When we were writing and recording Hot Squash I had just watched the film. Being a massive PTA fan I was blown away as usual and feeling suitably inspired I wrote a few lines of lyrics about cults and brainwashing. Tom [Hudson, vocals/guitar] elaborated on these and Hot Squash was born! I love the ambiguity of “The Master”, attacking such a huge subject with such subtlety is just genius in my eyes.”

The video is also now online, a surreal David Lynch-esque film by director Sing J Lee, who has previously worked with Chvrches and Gorgon City. He mysteriously described it as “set beneath the quiet suburban life, we take a voyeuristic trip into a dark, nonsensical romance”.

As well as appearances over the last few weeks at The Great Escape, Live at Leeds and YO1 in York the band are confirmed to play the main stage at Reading & Leeds Festival later this summer.

Pulled Apart By Horses are Tom Hudson (vocals/guitar), James Brown (guitar), Lee Vincent (Drums) and Robert Lee (bass).

“Blood” album track listing
Hot Squash
Lizard Baby
You Want It
Hello Men
Skull Noir
Grim Deal
Bag Of Snakes
Medium Rare
Weird Weather
Golden Monument


Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace