Larman Clamor

It has been what seems like a long wait. About 12 months ago we were approached to review an album by a nice chap in Germany. And if I remember correctly I missed the email first time round. Well, the stars aligned and I got to listen to “Alligator Heart”. It blew this reviewer away, it captured the essence of a dreamlike world (nightmarish?) and took you on a dark journey. One that is backed up by the preceding albums…he was building a world. All set to a backdrop of swamp boogie infused Alt/Blues (should such a thing exist!) The next chapter is now due for release.

“Beetle Crown & Steel Wand” evolves this world further, with a sound that is growing. The album is sonically more expansive and layered, but is still true to the dark bayou; and that rawness is still there but somehow kept at bay. If this story is to continue, and for this fan that has to happen; it might just by that Larman Clamor is slowly dragging his nightmare blues out of the swamp, and into a town near you. It is easily the weirdest and darkest unearthly swamp Alt/Blues you will ever hear-totally immersive!

Larman Clamor

As soon as you hit play the sound and style is unmistakable. The kitchen sink DIY ethic still manages to push out some astounding psychedelic Swamp Blues, yet this time round there is more going on. There is something smoother holding the sound together this time, more rhythmic, without sacrificing any of the mysticism that surrounds it all. This is highlighted with “Wilderness, Wilderness” having a more mainstream sound. By that; it has a larger feel to the sound, perhaps even a little more mainstream with the way the electric guitars, rhythm and percussion is structured throughout the track. Yet it remains unique to Larman Clamor as Alex’s rough; almost husky voice, rings out over the music. While ‘We Shine Alright’ has that more homebrew deep south vibe, “Caravan Of Ghouls” hits a little lower. The tempo is dropped, but augmented with grunting and clapping and a slow electric guitar line. These spin their magic as the tambourine gently provides a glimmer of hope in the darkness. “Her Majesty, The Mountain” opens as more of a tribute, an offering with its slow guitar work and the almost spoken delivery. As Alex gives the impression he is leaving himself open; prone, as he pays tribute to the Mountains; “…for now I kneel”.

Having tracked down the majority of the Larman Clamor back catalogue this is a very welcome addition and has had plenty of listens. Perhaps too many leading to this review coming in so close to its release date. If you like your Swamp Blues to possess a certain something; (take your pick; Rock, Psychedelic, Drone, Blues, Swamp, Lo-Fi, Garage, Dark Americana?), then this might be what you need.

Line Up
Alexander von Wieding

Track Listing
1. Beetle Crown & Steel Wand
2. My Lil’ Ghost
3. Eggs In The Sand
4. Wilderness, Wilderness
5. We Shine Alright
6. Caravan Of Ghouls
7. Tangerine Nightfall
8. Alter Yer Ways
9. Bleak Heart’s Night Waltz
10. Drone Monger
11. Aurora Snarling
12. Her Majesty, The Mountain
13. She Was Born A Sorceress


Words by Jon.