Plastic Barricades

London three-piece Plastic Barricades have been in existence in one form or another since 2007. They have a good ten years of gigs and EPs under their belts, as well as the tragic loss of their fourth drummer, Italian Matteo Ippolito; with everything they have been through, they certainly look and sound like veterans of the scene. With a firmly pigeonholed position in the alternative indie rock genre, this band have a style all of their own, with a big, echoing guitar sound and a considered, laid back feel to the music. Although I normally try to avoid anything with the title “alt rock” in it, I have to confess that I rather like their work.

“Mechanics of Life” is an easy-going, uplifting album that features some understated guitar work with some great percussion and funky bass underpinning the whole thing, although I will admit that sometimes I don’t quite understand where Dan’s vocals are coming from.

From the funky, carefree “How Goldfish Grow” to the flowing and chilled “Be the Change”, the catchy “Needles in Haystacks” and the thoughtful “Shine”, this album has a bit of something for everyone. It’s the sort of record that you can chuck on at a barbeque for a bit of background music, but I can also see that it would get people up and dancing at a chilled out party.

I particularly liked “Around The Sun” and the Sliding Doors/Groundhog Day video that goes with it and the jaunty “Medicine Man” is also a bit of a favourite (despite the slightly depressing lyrics).

With three previous EPs already in the bag, as a debut album, this is pretty triumphant. PB also have a slew of accolades and awards to their name, including winners of the Camden Rocks Festival 2014 Band Battle, finalists in the OXJAM Band Of the Year 2013 and also finalists in the Hard Rock Cafe Global Battle of the Bands 2014 for London. “Mechanics of Life” isn’t my usual sort of music, but it’s pretty good nonetheless and this reviewer can highly recommend that you take time to listen to it. The launch show for the album will take place at Proud Camden on 16th September, so if you’re in the area, it would be worth dropping by to catch them play.

Plastic Barricades

Plastic Barricades are:
Dan Kert – guitars, vocals, keyboards
Daniele Borgato – bass guitar
Frazer James Webster – drums

Track Listing
How Goldfish Grow
Singularity 2045
Our Favourite Delusions
Be the Change
Around the Sun
Needles in Haystacks
Half of your Soul
Medicine Man