Black Tree Vultures

Hailing from Bournemouth the “Black Tree Vultures” are a brand new band formed by Jonno Smyth and Aaron Hammersley, both formerly from two well-known touring outfits. (Voodoo Vegas & Tripwire). The band formed in September 2017 and wasted no time getting out gigging, putting in some memorable performances all over the UK. The four-piece band took themselves off to the Basement Studios in Wimborne to get down some tracks for their debut EP “Sanity Isn’t Perfect”. Their hard-hitting five-track EP is released digitally worldwide in February 2018 via BTV Records. It will be available on all good online media outlets such as Amazon, iTunes, Spotify, Apple Music and Deezer.

Black Tree Vultures

The EP kicks off with “Overrule Me” with the band setting the stall out from the start with groove-laden riffs over ferocious drumming. Vocalist Celyn brings his impressive vocal range with some powerfully delivered lyrics that would more than satisfy any Rock and Metal enthusiasts. “Holy Vultures Dream” has a bit of a Southern Rock groove going on with a hint of The Stooges. Connor’s driving bass coupled with full-on electric guitar could easily make this a live favourite. “Doom of Malakai” sees the band taking a trip to Sudan and showing a different hand with their style; heading in a slightly different direction with the tune sounding much heavier, certainly not for the faint-hearted. Once again here, the listener benefits from Celynís powerful vocal range which has to be heard to be believed – somewhere between Corey Taylor and James Hatfield.

Black Tree Vultures

The band keep up the heavier momentum with “My Filthy Redhead”. Here you can begin to fall in love with the mightily impressive axe work of one Aaron Hammersley, who gives his six strings a stunningly brutal workout. The riffs drift beautifully through the song ending with one hell of a monumental guitar solo. This collection ends with “Thanks for the Memories” and the band keep things hard and heavy with yet more merciless drumming, coupled with more of Aaron’s mighty fine riffage. The “Black Tree Vultures” has brought together four musicians, all who have found an immediate chemistry. This chemistry has already, even in their early stages of life generated something really special that will take them to bigger audiences and large stages. A fantastic debut…….

Track Listing
Overrule Me
Holly Vultures Daydream
Doom of Malakai
My Filthy Redhead
Thanks for the Memories

Black Tree Vultures are
Celyn Beynon – Vocals
Aaron Hammersley – Guitar/Backing Vocals
Coner Stace – Bass/Backing Vocals
Jonno Smyth – Drums



Words by Dave Chinery (Chinners)

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace