Isle of Wight four piece Indie Rock band “The Golden Strands” have recently released their first release a 5 track EP entitled ‘Thief Of The Night’, the band have been gigging consistently around the Isle of Wight for the last couple of years with their greatest achievement so far being chosen as well deserving finalists in Rob Da Bank’s Bestival competition.

The EP is an interesting mix of electronics and guitar, coupled with the pleasant tones of Rosie’s vocals. The whole recording has a well produced full sound, with almost each track being a completely different style with the band not having settled with one particular sound. It is hard to pigeon-hole The Golden Strands, due to the variances between the tracks, and yet despite these variances they maintain a consistency that you know it is them. A lot of tracks sound familiar, yet when trying to draw parallels those comparisons don’t seem to stand up. The band comprises of Rosie Curling (vocals, keyboards), Donald Bray (guitar, vocals), Joel Cooke (bass, vocals) and Shaun Sales (drums).

The EP is available from their website for very reasonable price of just £2 and the tracks are also streamed, so you can give the tunes a listen before putting your hand in your pocket.

Track Listing
Thief in the Night
That’s How We Roll
Full Grown Man
Dance Floor
My Bed


Review by Jon.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace