I’ve had the pleasure of seeing this band play live a few times the past couple of years and they put on a full-bloodied rock show, always giving 100% every gig. So I couldn’t wait to get my grubby mitts on their first studio effort Truckload of Trouble!

Western Sand consists of Tyler Hains on lead guitar & lead vocals, Jimmy Bradshaw on lead guitar, Findlay Hotchkiss on bass & backing vocals and on drums & backing vocals Nathan J. Kay. Their music is classic rock with one foot firmly planted in the 70’s!
They all share the song writing credits on the album and the lyrics are written by Tyler. It’s a foot stomping, head bopping, get up and enjoy yourself affair, which is also very suited to driving. I love putting this on in the car (turning the bass up as I feel it sounds better with a deep end) and going for a drive!

In my opinion the songs are well structured Southern rock style tracks, evoking whiskey and beer soaked nights in dingy smoky bars with a disreputable clientèle. Big riffs pounding drums and excellent duelling guitars are the main focus of the album; none more so than on the CD’s stand out track the pile-driving Back on the Road Again!

These guys play with a passion and energy live that isn’t quite captured on record. The vocals sound slightly tinny and the album sounds very clean. A bit too clean for my liking, I would have preferred if it was mixed with a more live sounding feel, a more rough and ready, down and dirty type of affair!

But don’t get me wrong if you like Lynyrd Skynyrd, Black Stone Cherry with AC/DC and Led Zeppelin on the side you are going to love this!

Track Listing
1. Coming For You
2. Where Two Rivers Meet
3. Truckload Of Trouble
4. Ain’t No Place (In This Town For Rock N’ Roll)
5. Long Gone
6. Bad News
7. Back On The Road


Words by Dan O’Gara.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace