Including date at Bournemouth International Centre

The Prodigy

The Prodigy announce their new album “The Day is My Enemy”, due for release on March 30th via the bands own label Take Me To The Hospital through Cooking Vinyl. It’s an album that takes you on a journey through the unchartered underbelly of urban nightlife where anger is an ever-present energy lurking just beneath the surface of an edgy calm.

“I can’t tell you why this record came out so angry, I think its just inbuilt in me, ” says Liam Howlett “It’s more about what I like music to do. I’ve always seen music I like as a form of attack. That’s what I use music for, it’s an attack. I didn’t plan this album to sound violent, it’s just the sound that came out of the studio , a kind of build up over the last 4 years . “Anger is an energy”, that’s a lyric which always resonated with me. The tension is buried deep in the music right from the first drop. It’s all about the sound having that sense of danger. That”s what The Prodigy sound is about.”

The Prodigy

Uncompromising first single “Nasty” fires out of the cannons like a ferocious statement of intent and finds Keith Flint at his snarling best. Premiering as Zane Lowe’s Hottest Record in the World tonight on BBC Radio 1, it sets the tone perfectly for the new album.

By rights Liam Howlett, Keith Flint and Maxim shouldn’t be angry at all. The Prodigy have always cut a solitary path through the noise-scapes of electronic dance music. Theyíve dropped five epoch defining studio albums, including 2009ís world dominating Invaders Must Die, and delivered unforgettable live performances that have taken electronic beats into unchartered territories. Throughout this time theyíve remained resolutely focused on their own vision, inspiring legions of artists along the way.

The Prodigy

“The Day Is My Enemy” is probably the most British sounding album you’ll hear this year. Not British in the flag waving jingoistic sense, but in a way that understands that the nighttime spaces of urban Britain are a multi-hued cacophony of cultures. If “Invaders Must Die” was the sound of the rusted urban sprawl decaying like an open wound in the British countryside, then “The Day is My Enemy” is about the angry humanity existing in the decay of the urban nightmare.

“The Day Is My Enemy” is available to pre-order at The Prodigy store / and iTunes.

The Prodigy

1. The Day is My Enemy
2. Nasty
3. Rebel Radio
4. Ibiza feat. Sleaford Mods
5. Destroy
6. Wild Frontier
7. Rok-Weiler
8. Beyond the Deathray
9. Rhythm Bomb feat. Flux Pavilion
10. Roadblox
11. Get Your Fight On
12. Medicine
13. Invisible Sun
14. Wall Of Death

The Prodigy also announced a UK tour for May. Tickets go on general sale on Wednesday 14th January and are available.

4 May – Newcastle O2 Academy
5 May – Bridlington Spa
7 May – Birmingham O2 Academy
8 May – Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
9 May – Blackpool Empress Ballroom
11 May – Reading Rivermead
12 May – Brighton Centre
14 May – Bournemouth BIC
15 May – London Alexandra Palace (3am curfew)
16 May – London Alexandra Palace


Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace